Not Knowing: A Novel — Coming July 2019!

When Meg was a little girl, Abuela María predicted she would travel to the moon. Now she’s an archaeologist digging up Mayan ruins in Belize while trying to keep her own past buried beneath hard work and pro­fessional responsibility. It isn’t working. The summer of 2022 seems destined to push all of Meg’s buttons—her deep-seated aversion to marijuana and guns and the unwanted pres­ence of a boy who reminds her of a certain horrific summer in Mexico. Digging deeper only unearths more questions. And then her husband buys a lottery ticket for the first tourist flight to the moon. What Meg doesn’t want to know may yet be her redemption.

Release event on the 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 Moon Landing – July 20 at Malvern Books! 

RECALL CHRONICLES – Available now on Amazon!

Birdwell’s RECALL CHRONICLES create “a vision of the future that’s both harrowing and endlessly entertaining.” — Kirkus Reviews

Read more of what Kirkus Reviews has to say about Shadow of the Hare HERE.

Read Tony Burnett’s review in Writers’ League of Texas’ Scribe HERE.

Recall Chronicles available on Amazon and at leading independent bookstores:  In Austin at Book PeopleMalvern Books, Bookwoman, and at Half Price Books N. Lamar (local authors shelf). In Houston at River Oaks Bookstore.  In San Antonio at The Twig Book Shop.  In Dallas at Deep Vellum Bookstore. 


In a 22nd-century world in which books have ceased to matter and barely exist, Malia Poole is a stubbornly dissident author and bibliophile. After fifty years of self-imposed exile, she returns to find a world far more terrifying than the one she fled in 2075. In Texas, Nigeria, and India she doggedly pursues the truth her heart demands.

“I haven’t seen a book with this wide ranging ambition and perspective in a long time. Dystopian literature is always at its best when it’s actually utopian in its heart. Donna Birdwell’s vision, a future gone subtly wrong, seems really more a look at how we might get it right.” – Steven J. Zani, Ph.D.”

READ Chapter One HERE. 


When Jenda Swain – youthful and vigorous at the age of 111 – encounters an incongruously old woman at an out-of-the-way café, her life veers in a new direction amid unsettling questions about her own identity and her role in the corporation-dominated culture of 2125. Her journey takes her into the arms of an activist artist, who has a quest of his own. Answers come together as their world falls apart.

Way of the Serpent manages to be at once a page-turner, with mystery, romance, and rebellion driving the plot forward–and a book that sticks with you after you read it. I found myself still pondering some of the passages and themes from this novel days after I’d finished it.” – Claire Villareal, Ph.D.

“Insightful and haunting! Vividly portrayed characters undertake a suspenseful journey of uncovering and fighting a corporate conspiracy.” – Elena Sandovici, author of Dogs With Bagels

“This is a fine first novel: well-paced, good character development, and written with narrative skill.” – Ronald K. Wetherington, author of Kiva

To read the opening chapters of this book, click here. 

Volume III – Flight of the Owl .

Jonathan Swain is headed back to where he was seven months ago, back when the world still existed. It’s early spring 2127 as he sets out in search of his plutocrat grandfather’s archives, determined to discover the truth about the old man’s role in the disastrous world that was. Accompanied by a Hopi artist and a genius fifteen-year-old with a sketchy past, Jonathan’s quest takes him first to Dallas, Texas, and then to Costa Rica, where he learns that the future of humankind may depend on what he finds.